Guest Post

USA manufacturing laying in ruins

The following post was requested by a friend of mine. I don’t want to turn my blog into an all political vehicle. Some things do have to be aired. I am wiped out from therapy and walking today. Today is the perfect day for a guest poster:

Recently, Mitt Romney, the front running Republican presidential nominee contender downplayed his income and described the speaking fees he receives as “not very much” money.

Last year, in 2010, he received $374,327.62 in speaking fees alone. According to the Wall Street Journal’s “What Percent are you” calculator, over 25 percent of United States households (households, not individuals) live on less than $20,000 a year. I know some of these people and they’re not all single retirees who have their houses paid for. There are plenty of working families struggling to keep a job(s), and a house, and feed their offspring in that statistic.

If Romney considers that chunk of money a pittance, I would happily take it from him. I know many people struggling to get by. For one of the less than $20,000 a year two person households I know, it will take them almost 19 more YEARS before they can even make what he considers an annual chump change amount of speaking fees.

Romney, I’d love it if you or one of your crew read this and responded. I’m completely serious. Hell, I’d even settle for the $10,000 from the wager you offered Rick Perry as that will go far in setting me up with investments so that someday, I too, like you, can live off of passive investment income that’s taxed at a lower percentage rate rather than bust my ass for working wages that hover closer to the bottom 25% of Americans rather than the top.

Leave a Reply

