I Am Unprepared

IMG_0261

I did not post last night because shortly after signing into my email we lost power. It was off from 10:30 PM until around 4 AM and continued to go off and on for at least another 30 minutes this morning while I fell back asleep. At first I thought no big deal, it will come back on in an hour or two. But then I started to worry that maybe the whole county or state was without power and I had no way of knowing. I was worried about my ice cream melting in the freezer. The ice cream is safe, I checked it out this morning. I thought of all the ways I was unprepared. I did not have a battery powered radio. Heck my son and I had to share one lantern since my flashlights were either lost in his room, or batteryless in my purse. I thought about using the radio in my car, but I decided it would be best to wait until daylight to do that. Some little things blew off my porch and a few small branches and leaves are down in my yard and in the neighborhood. It was just a thunderstorm. Later today I will be working on getting at least two more flashlights in working order.

I took some pictures of the plants in my yard while it was nice out yesterday. I propagated a few. Others I just wanted to identify or document the deadness of my “decayed” tree. This pic is something growing in my grass under the trees. I think it is super cute. I wish I had more of it and less grass. I do not know what it is. The flash went off since my camera settings were hard to see without my glasses on.

One thought on “I Am Unprepared

  1. A couple of storms ago, some friends described the great lengths they go to for preparation, including generator, water supply, cases of canned food, etc., and it made me realize that I am woefully unprepared; worse, I see that I cannot possibly go to those lengths. I started to worry and obsess, till I realized there wasn’t much I could do, so if there is ever such a terrible storm to end civilization as we know it, then I can only hope that it pulverizes my house and me. Then my Swiss-cheese-memory and distraction issues took over, and I forgot to worry about it.

Leave a Reply

