Peaceful

IMG_0265

This is my favorite of the “big four” trees planted in my side or corner yard. I was trying to document how much is damaged by disease or insects. I always love looking up at the sunlight that shows between the leaves. My hammock is in this yard, but I don’t lay out there often enough to stare up at the trees. I really need a screened in gazebo here, because there are tons of mosquitos.

My exercise the last two days was mowing a little bit. It takes a lot of effort because of my uneven yard, my stroke affected body and I can not stand sweating. My face turned red yesterday from being “overheated”. I still have more lawn to mow after working on it three days already. I should get about 90 percent of it done today, if it does not rain more and if my son helps me. He did a few rows yesterday. What takes me 1/2 hour takes him 5 minutes and he still complains. I had to pick him up from school and take him to an appointment. I also talked to my mom on the phone. I washed my hair and cooked dinner, all things that take me longer and take more out of me. I am counting my plant propagation as “relaxing” time, as it is something I love to do. I also watered my garden with the watering can. Something is not right with my garden hose or outside faucet.

2 thoughts on “Peaceful

  1. Congrats on the progress in your yard!

    Until you get a screened-in gazebo, maybe try planting some mosquito-repelling plants. Some I’ve seen are lemon balm, peppermint, catnip, rosemary, garlic and thyme, but there could be others. Also, I bought a bat house for that purpose that I never used; I’d ship it to you if you want it. Let me know. Bats eat about 500 mosquitoes per hour.

    • Thanks for the congrats. The progress on my yard means my house cleaning suffers. The gazebo is a pipe dream, I have so many repairs that need to be done on my house first. I am holding off on putting up a bat house until my soffits on my roof are redone. I have too many openings on my “giant” bat house. I had a bat the first year I lived here, entered through the roof and took forever to get him out the front door. I had the lights and music on all night for weeks after. After my roof is done I might hang one on each tree. I also realized my birdbath is a breeding ground (it is out there)…I have to find out what to put in that won’t hurt the birds but not let the mosquitos breed.

Leave a Reply

