Next Year I Might Grow Flowers Only

IMG_0783

I like green tomatoes, but these guys could have used warmer weather for a bit longer. I spent time watering them all summer, picking them before frost hits and cleaning up the bed to prevent blight next year. I then proceeded to spend too much time cutting them up one handed. A few days ago I made one batch of what I call chunky sauce. For about 4 more hours today, I spent cutting up the rest for another batch of sauce and the rest to go into the freezer. I am trying to be positive, but I can buy sauce for $2 a jar already made. I don’t have enough to make it worthwhile to can. If this was pre-industrial days I would starve this winter. I had a few tasty meals out of my garden, but doubt I could live solely on it for more than 2 weeks tops. I picked one jalapeno pepper also…oye….Zero green peppers, and about 5 cucumbers and a few puny squash. I am so tired and my body hurts. I am seriously thinking if I don’t have a greenhouse next year I will only plant a couple of zucchini and a one cucumber plant and the rest will be flowers.

Leave a Reply

