Day 5 I Am Thankful For My Parents

IMG_1607

This pic was just over a year after my stroke. I am the gawky one sitting down. My sister and my mom, both were a great help during my early recovery. I cringe when I see how crooked I look. My hair was pixie short because I wanted to not have one more thing I had to worry about taking care of with one hand.

I believe everyone should be thankful for their parents. I was fortunate to have parents that stayed together. My dad passed in 2006. He left many impressions and good memories I will have forever. My mother is still with us, and for over a year was my caretaker after stroke. I was very moody, angry, PBA to the max (Pseudobulbar affect for those that don’t know, you can research it). My mom, who considers herself elderly, survived my criticizing her driving, my mood swings, my freaking out and more as she has all my life.

I am grateful I have never had to wish for different parents or circumstances while growing up. My parents were always there for me.

2 thoughts on “Day 5 I Am Thankful For My Parents

  1. You certainly are fortunate to have wonderful parents. My mother died 25 years ago, and I know she would have been an excellent caregiver. My father, on the other hand, never did a thing to help or express concern after I had the stroke. The first time I saw him after the stroke was nearly 2 years later – at a cousin’s wedding, because we both happened to be there. Yes, I am still bitter about that.

Leave a Reply

