The Harsh Reality of Trying To Be Thankful For What You Have

 “A competent and self-confident person is incapable of jealousy in anything. Jealousy is invariably a symptom of neurotic insecurity.”

― Robert A. Heinlein

In my inbox this morning was this quote. Hello, I am neurotic insecure. I have greatly realized this year that being jealous gets me nowhere. I also know that after having a stroke and not being able to do what I used to causes many jealousies to form. I want to run. I want POSITIVE attention from other people. I want to realize my dreams and aspirations. I hate having other peoples success seam unattainable to me. Don’t misunderstand me, I like to see others happy. I just need to learn why good things are not happening for me.

I will post later my days of attitude for gratitude journal. I just needed to share this quote, because I wanted to get all my negative energy out, so I can kill it once and for all. Does that seem neurotic?

One thought on “The Harsh Reality of Trying To Be Thankful For What You Have

  1. Who said I want to be a “self-confident person”? Even if it’s true that our jealousy means that we are incredibly insecure, how does that make us incompetent? Just because Robert Heinlein said this, doesn’t make it true.Or are we to conclude it’s about us being physically incompetent, i.e., incapable? I feel jealousy when I see everyone around me easily doing what I used to do; I think it’s perfectly normal, not neurotic. I’m jealous because others have abilities that I SHOULD have, and that’s the way I’m made. I refuse to judge myself as neurotic.

Leave a Reply

