“who I am and why I’m here”

My first assignment for blogging 101,  I am hopefully going to learn how to do this best finally.

First of all I am here in blogland to share my story of recovering from a stroke. I had three strokes by the time I was 47. The last one left me paralyzed and numb on one side, and a whole lot of messed up cognition issues that screw with a “normal” life but are not measured or even of interest to doctors (none that I have seen). I don’t want to be known solely as a pitiful disabled person that sometimes wets her pants. My mind still has clarity of many things, I still yearn to live the life I want and believe I was made for.

I have been a single parent on and off for almost 8 years. I am still searching for my soulmate. I share tales of my life as a grandmother, mother to a depressed teen, struggles of living on social security, my quest to be in tune with the Universe, my selling of vintage items, my attempts at humor and poetry, my gardening with one hand, cooking and baking low sodium foods, and more everyday life.

I signed up for blogging101 because I felt the need to take my blog up several notches. I need new ideas, constant reminders to keep it positive, and most of all I need technical help in inserting (that’s what she said…lol) and linking. Until I started blogging, all my writing was old school pen and paper with scribbled notes in the margins, scratched out lines, circled words and renumbering paragraphs. After all the physical effort the paper ended up in the trash or recycled, because they were either for a class I took or letters to former one sided loves. My thoughts stored perpetually in cyberspace might be the only legacy of mine that live on beyond my time on earth.

35 thoughts on ““who I am and why I’m here”

  1. Hi Igneousidol, I am also doing the Blogging 101 and kind of cheating by looking at what other people have written before I put my post up 🙂 Thanks for sharing, I’m looking forward to reading your blog.
    Rowena.

  2. Whoa, 3 strokes before 47. That must have been extremely challenging and you’re obviously a special person for overcoming that. I wish you well ✨

  3. Hi Igneousidol, I look forward to reading your blog. Inspires me and by the way, I would be able to gather more information about stroke patient and their daily lives. 😀

  4. Oh Diana!
    Your story sure is worth telling!
    I haven’t written anything like a blog or novel before either. But a need gripped me. I am so looking forward to reading more of your life. And how you have made it this far. 3 strokes. Yikes! My brother had one ten years ago. I am so so sorry you had to go through 3. But I am also very impressed by what you must have overcome to come this far!
    Best of luck!
    /Maria
    Ps thank you for visiting my site so I could find yours!

    • Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I am following your blog as well as everyone’s in this blogging101, but my mother is very sensitive to smells as well, so I don’t wish that on anyone but I am interested in finding out how you deal with it. My Mom just takes benadryl, but she might not have the exact same thing as you.

  5. I think you are incredibly strong! After everything you’ve been through, it is wonderful to hear that it didn’t break you and you still have or try to have a positive outlook on life. You should write more and you should be heard. I’m glad I read a part of your story and I am looking forward to reading more of it 🙂

  6. Hi, You have certainly been through a great deal but despite it all you are still moving forward and for that I say keep moving. Your obviously moving in the right direction so Good Luck my friend. I look forward to reading more about your endeavours as we continue our journey.. Thank you for sharing..

  7. Thanks so much for popping by my blog and commenting. I have just read your Day 1 Blogging101 course post and I feel inspired by your story. I wish you all the best and will keep reading your future posts to see act you are up to 🙂

  8. Why you are here was a good read! And look at how you’re working your blog!!! I’m impressed! Hope to see you around!

  9. “I don’t want to be known solely as a pitiful disabled person that sometimes wets her pants. My mind still has clarity of many things, I still yearn to live the life I want and believe I was made for.”

    How incredibly beautiful and inspiring. Thank you!! 🙂

  10. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It has given me the opportunity to find yours and read about your incredible strength and determination.
    I have been blogging for over year now but jumped at Blogging 101 because I need to learn more about this venture I’ve undertaken. I am with you for sure on needing help with the technical stuff.

    Thanks again for stopping by and the follow too.

  11. Pingback: Celebrating the little things tag – Ramblings of a Writer

Leave a Reply

