1-6-16 Day Four: Identify Your Audience

IMG_20160106_224819

Mockup sketch of my letterboxing stamp. My trail name is igneousidol of course. That has been my email name for a long  time. Igneous being my favorite type of rock. I love rocks, hence idol….because rock lover sounds like a music groupie….I would not mind for that to come true either. The picture represents some of my favorite things. I like circles, stars, elephants, and peace. I am not a child, just a simple adult…lol. I wanted a pit bull dog image too…but I am not that kind of artist.

Something totally different for me, since I never heard of Letterboxing until last year. I still did not have a clear understanding of what it is until last week. Basically, you hunt in public parks or ground from clues given online until you find the stash of Letterbox containing the placers stamp and journal. You bring your own journal and stamp with you. You stamp yours into theirs and then take their stamp to mark your journal. Then you hide the stash back where you found it.

Here are two websites you can go to letterboxing.org and atlasquest.com to find out more.  This is still very new to me too. I can not wait to carve my stamp and get a journal and inkpad. I think I will start at the dollar store.

I am too tired to write in detail of what I did today. Briefly my son did not go to school again. I went to trivia night. I have two guys writing to me on POF. I did more laundry. I ate shells, spinach, and ricotta for dinner. My camera is still not working. Sorry that is why I had to post a crappy pic again, taken with my cell phone in bad lighting.

 

11 thoughts on “1-6-16 Day Four: Identify Your Audience

  1. Seriously, I got this wrong…..I need to identify my audience…….Day Four: Identify Your Audience. My audience is my grandchildren in the future (my heirs)…they will now know where grandma started her mad letterboxing skills. And yes, I just pulled this out of my ass to fit the assignment.

  2. Make the assignment meet the inspiration, not the other way around 🙂 Elephants rock. And letterboxing sounds mad fun. I wonder if they do that in Japan?

    • I want to google and find out for you if letterboxing is in Japan. I am just going to guess (for now) that it is around the world. Thank you for commenting.

      • You’re welcome 🙂 I like leaving comments. It gives me a chance to ramble. Everyone who reads something is thinking something while they read it… why not just blurt it out?

  3. Hope you got the stamp carved by now, and armed with stamp pad and journal you are off adventuring! Look for my boxes if you ever make it to Texas!

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I should make it to Texas in a few years when I am doing my every state camping trip. I did not get my stamp carved yet…did not even buy the materials to try yet. The place around the corner I was going to letterbox first has been covered in ice or snow lately. Thank you for the reminder though..

Leave a Reply

