Signs Of Life Among The Dead

2017-04-23 17.12.46

I think this is a redbud tree, or some other flowering tree just starting to spring to life. I took a walk around part of the Oakwood Cemetery in Syracuse last weekend to get some exercise. It is huge, and has many hills. I tried to hike up one hill and slipped in the muddy road…I caught myself several times on the grassy bank next to me. I kept going up, instead of turning around and attempting a different route. It was not my smartest move. I ended up climbing over a downed tree’s branches so I could use those to steady myself to get to the next road. My boyfriend came to see if I needed help, I asked him to pick me up with the car further up the road. After he left, a concerned stranger came to see if I needed help. I should wear a sign, I must look like a crazy drunk person. It was hard to balance with my feet slipping in the mud, I have a hard enough time balancing to walk on a normal straight paved road. I am going to add hiking shoes to my list of must haves before I try that again.

I saw many awesome stone buildings, a pyramid shaped vault, and endless old gravestones and obelisks….there was also the sounds and sights of nature, squirrels, birds, bugs, and many interesting trees and plants. I will be posting a few more pics of there on here in the near future.

One thought on “Signs Of Life Among The Dead

  1. It’s nice to know there are people around that offer help when they see someone having a problem even if it’s only slipping in the mud.
    Have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

